Last Update About WorldFest Incident

Ladies and Gentlemen, at this point (Friday, April 26th), there have been several articles published online about the WorldFest incident. It has received a surprising amount of attention, and I’m glad of that.

However, it is time to put the matter to rest, at least for me.  As I’ve said, I was not at the film festival, nor was I witness to any of this; my role has merely been as blogger and word-spreader.  I’ve said all that I can say on the matter, and I believe that my brother has said all that he can say on the matter.  People either believe him or they don’t, and there’s nothing more that can be said about that.

At this point, it is up to the Muslim student to decide whether she wants to continue to fight this situation or not, and I am not privy to or a part of that decision.

My university has expressed some concern about the possibilities of this situation escalating.  I don’t know about anyone else involved, but I know that prospect makes me nervous, particularly as my only hopes for the initial blog post were that a few people might read it and be as upset as I was, and perhaps an apology would be issued.  Well, an apology WAS issued, but unfortunately, the situation did not end there, and still threatens to escalate.

And quite frankly, folks, I’m a PhD student and college English teacher in the middle of finals, and my attentions are required elsewhere.  I have enough on my plate just trying to grade my students’ papers and write my own.

So, if something else major happens I will let you all know.  But for the moment, my role in this is done, and I need to get back to the work I’m paid for.

Thank you for all your interest and support in this past week,

Amanda

2 thoughts on “Last Update About WorldFest Incident

    • Thank you very for the support. And don’t worry, finals are definitely taking precedence right now.

Leave a Reply

