Amanda’s Top Albums of 2012: 10 Honorable Mentions

First, sorry it took me longer than planned to get to this. Second, yes I’m still alive. Third, the first week and a half of the Spring semester have been relatively quiet, but I’m just holding my breath and waiting for the crazy shit to start.

In the mean time, here is the list of ten honorable mention albums I promised in my last post. I am not going to give any big descriptions of these, but I will include the cover art and a favorite song. Also note that these are NOT in any particular order at all

The 2nd Law – Muse
Favorite Song: definitely “Supremacy”

Some Nights – Fun.
Favorite Song: “Some Nights” (by FAR – even despite the annoying but of auto-tuning near the end

The Slideshow Effect – Memoryhouse
Favorite Song: maybe “The Kids Were Wrong”

Babel – Mumford and Sons
Favorite song: “Hopeless Wanderer”

Attack on Memory – Cloud Nothings
Favorite Song: “Separation”

Dark Adrenaline – Lacuna Coil
Favorite Song: “Kill the Light”

Nothing Here Seems Strange – Buxton

Favorite Song: “Wolves and Owls”

Blonde Album – Lightning Love
Favorite Song: maybe “Orange Glow” (in favor of full disclosure: the guitarist of this band is the nephew of one of my professors. That’s how I even heard of these guys. They are so light and pop-y it’s almost comical, but they’re just FUN).

Bag of Hammers – Linus Pauling Quartet
Favorite Song: definitely “She Did Not Know” (just listen to the GUITAR on this one!)

Living Things – Linkin Park

Favorite Song: uh… perhaps… “Burn It Down” (I love Linkin Park, but I’ll admit that this album was a bit underwhelming for me the first few times I listend to it. But it’s really grown on me since then.)

Okay, there’s my honorable mentions for the Top Albums of 2012. Let me know what you think, Folks! (If the honorable mentions don’t clue you in on how schizophrenic and all-over-the-place my music tastes are, nothing will). In the meantime, I will try my best not to take quite so long to post again. But no promises. *shrugs*

5 thoughts on “Amanda’s Top Albums of 2012: 10 Honorable Mentions

    • Oh yes, I’ve heard all the Mumford and Sons songs. They aren’t like my favorite band EVER, but I definitely enjoy them. I hope you find some new bands to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

