The Hobbit: It’s Here, It’s Here, It’s Here!

IT’S HERE, IT’S HERE, IT’S HERE!!!!

It’s all over the internet, but in case you somehow inexplicably missed it: The Hobbit trailer and poster are out! And they are amazing!!

The poster is gorgeous.  All by itself, it makes me nostalgic, and excited, and twists my stomach into knots in ways that are very reminiscent of the first time I ever read the book in 4th grade.

This post from the SyFy Channel blog analyzes the poster nicely and explains some of why it is so damn good: “1st Poster from The Hobbit Turns Us All Into Bilbo.”

But the real excitement comes from the trailer.  Which is utter brilliance.  But don’t take my word for it.  Check it out:

See?  SEE!!  Oh my god, I can’t tell you what this trailer does to me!  I got seriously teary-eyed when the dwarves started singing.  And I’m not the only one, I swear! Seeing Ian McKellen as Gandalf again is amazing.  And Martin Freeman looks to be PERFECT as Bilbo.  And all the dwarves look fantastic.  And The Lord of the Rings main theme at the end of the trailer: it goes straight to my gut.  Can you believe it’s already been TEN YEARS since The Fellowship of the Ring was released in theatres?  It blows my mind to think about it!  I remember my best friend and I went to the midnight release on a thursday, despite the fact that it was during midterms our Junior year of high school.  And it was amazing, and mind-blowing, spirit-soaring, and life-altering.

The Hobbit is going to do it all over again.  It is going to bring me back to high school, and geeking-out with my best friend.  And it is going to bring me back to being in 4th grade, nine years old, reading The Hobbit (and The Lord of the Rings) for the first time, and realizing AT THAT MOMENT, that I was going to be a writer.  That I NEEDED to be a writer.  That this is what I was meant to do with my life.

My stomach is going to be in knots for the whole year.  I am going to be in agony waiting for Dec 14th 2012.  I’m not entirely sure I can handle it!  But I guess it’s time to go re-read The Hobbit for the fifty-millionth time, huh?

How about you?  Please share your gushing excitement below!  (And if you don’t like The Hobbit, well… I’m not sure we can friends anymore… ^_^; )

Also, if you love the gifs in this post, you can find them and many other awesome Hobbit gifs here on Kiersten Krum’s Tumblr.

13 thoughts on “The Hobbit: It’s Here, It’s Here, It’s Here!

  1. I feel the same way as you do! I cannot wait until this movie comes out! It’s like my childhood dreams are coming true! I’m so excite about this I have to finish each sentence with an exclamation point!

  2. I’ll admit to being one of the guys who was highly displeased with the LOTR triology, and in general not a huge fan of Peter Jackson’s direction.

    The trailer for the Hobbit has converted me. Jackson’s choice in shots is impeccable and this can’t be wrong.

    (Also, Dwarf-song.)

    • I honestly cannot fathom how you can’t like the LotR movies. There are a few casting choices that I’m still not all that happy with, but they stay so true to the books and are so gorgeous and the technical innovations, cinematography, art/set design, and score are phenomenal and mind-blowing.

      But I am so glad the Hobbit trailer has converted you. ^_^

  3. It looks like it’s going to be as awesome as the first trilogy! I really liked the Hobbit – Tolkien didn’t lapse into needless explanation and back story quite as much as he did in his other books, haha. And the battle that takes place later in the book is probably going to be awesome on screen!

  4. Gosh, ten years already? I remember going to watch the LotR movies with my friends freshman year. Gosh, this makes me so excited. So, so, so excited. =D

Leave a Reply

