Amanda’s Top 20 Albums of 2011, Part 1 (11-20)

Free-For-All Friday: Amanda’s Top 20 Albums of 2011, Part 1 (11-20)

At first, I was thinking I’d do another post for the In Leah’s Wake blog tour to wrap up the week, but then I realized that if I did all three of my weekly posts for these blog tours that I have lined up through Christmas, I wouldn’t have time to do any of the other million things I’d like to talk about.  So decided that for each of the blog tours, I will do something Monday and Wednesday, but I’m keeping Free-For-All Fridays for myself.  If you haven’t checked out any of the In Leah’s Wake blog tour stuff please go here for an excerpt from the novel, and here for my review.  Each of those posts will also give you some info on prizes you can possibly win, but today (Friday) is the last day to get in on those, so hurry!

Anyway, I’ve been talking to friends about my (and their) top albums of the year, and I’ve been reading lists from TIME, Rolling Stone, Spin, and others, and I decided it was time to list my Top 20 Albums for 2011.  I couldn’t keep it down to 10, sorry!  I just couldn’t do it!  Also, while I’m pretty content with 1-3, and 16-20, all the ones in the middle keep moving around and pushing each other around, so those numbers aren’t quite so stable in hierarchy.  Anyway, without further ado, Amanda’s Top 20 Albums of 2011, Part 1 (11-20):

20) Nine Types of Light by TV on the Radio

19) The King is Dead by The Decemberists

18) What Did You Expect From the Vaccines? by The Vaccines

17) Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds by Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds

16) Circuital by My Morning Jacket

15) Take Care, Take Care, Take Care by Explosions in the Sky

14) In the Grace of Your Love by The Rapture

13) Killing the Darlings by Pearl and the Beard

12) Codes and Keys by Death Cab for Cutie

11) Audio, Video, Disco by Justice

As you may be able to tell, I have extremely varied and somewhat eccentric tastes.  There were a number of other albums I thought about it putting in here as well.  I have a couple honorable mentions:

Silversun Pickups new single Seasick, which probably would have replaced TV on the Radio except it seemed silly to put a single with only 3 songs on the list.  Also, Hugh Laurie’s blues album Let Them Talk — some people don’t think it’s all that good, but I happen to really like it.  Tab Benoit’s New Orleans Blues album Medicine almost made the list too.

Anyway, rather than make you wait until next Friday to see the Top 10, I’m going to post the second half of the list on Sunday before my next blog tour starts.  So please stop back by on Sunday to see what made the Top 10.  Also, I’m putting together a Spotify playlist with all my Top 20 albums, which I will have posted for you all on Sunday as well.

Oh! and please feel free to chime in below! I’d love to hear what you think of my list so far.  What’s missing?  What should be higher or lower?  What have you simply never heard of before?  I am ALWAYS in need of new music, so please tell me what I’m missing!

5 thoughts on “Amanda’s Top 20 Albums of 2011, Part 1 (11-20)

  1. I have no idea what half of that is…although I’ve heard of most of the groups. I am WAY behind the times musically speaking, haha. Although if I do any music shopping I’ll consult your list for new ideas 🙂

    • Hehe… yeah, I have very eclectic tastes… Hopefully, you’ll find something you like in here. If you’re curious: Justice is a french techno group (ala Daft Punk), Explosions in the Sky is instrumental rock, The Foo Fighters are fairly “straight” rock, and the others are all some variation/combination of alt/indie rock, post-punk, indie folk, electronica, etc… Except for Pearl and the Beard. I’m not sure how to classify them. Sort of indie folk rock – only weirder.

  2. Oh my goodness, new music! I’m in love. I need to go through all of these and see if my tastes are just as crazy as yours (and seeing as I love techno and metal and punk and some country and even some pop, it just might). Also, is some of this stuff Christian music? I noticed the cross on Audio,Video, Disco.

    • Nope, I don’t believe Justice are Christian, though I’m not certain.

      I hope you find something in the list that you’ll like! There’s all sorts of fun stuff in there. ^_^

  3. Pingback: Amanda’s Top 20 Albums of 2011, Part 2 (1-10) « Amanda Rudd's Blog

Leave a Reply

