Happy Thanksgiving and a Brief Hiatus

First: Happy Thanksgiving to all those who celebrate!  I hope your day (and week) is joyful and filled with family and good food.

My Thanksgiving is usually pretty small: just me, my mother, and my brother, but we like it that way.  For years and years we never lived close enough to the rest of the family to have the classic huge family get-together.  Now that we do live fairly close to some of our aunts and uncles, we still generally don’t get together for Thanksgiving as there is a usually some tension over which house should host, and how many of them are going to their in-laws places instead, etc.  I love my big family but they are rather… exhausting.  So my mother, brother, and I enjoy a quiet day: getting up to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, cooking and eating very good food (we go the traditional route mainly, though my brother became a vegetarian this year so we’ve added stuffed flounder to the menu), watching 1 or 2 of the scheduled football games, and then in the evening going to a movie (I think it’s going to be the new Muppets movie this year).

I always love hearing what kinds of traditions others have.  I am always fascinated by, part-jealous/part-terrified of stories about enormous family get-togethers.  Some of my friends have really epically HUGE family dinners that I can’t begin to imagine — especially since they mainly get along really well with their aunts, uncles, and cousins (not something I can only claim).  So if you have any interesting traditions, or if you like a nice quiet day like me, I’d love to hear about it!

Second: I want to let all my lovely blog followers know that I will be taking a short hiatus for the next 2-3 weeks.  I am at the end of the semester, and between portfolios, presentations, term papers, and grading, but plate is over-flowing.  Add to that the fact that my NaNoWriMo plans got derailed by my work load, and I just can’t keep up right now.  I’m sure this has become obvious by my spotty posting record the last few weeks.  So I’m taking a short break while I wrap up the semester.  I should be done somewhere around Dec 9th-11th, and then I will be back on schedule.

Also, I am participating in a blog book tour in the second half of December, so I will definitely be back in time for that.

I am highly thankful for all of you who read this blog.  It’s been almost a year and half now since I started here, and I’ve learned a lot, met a ton of awesome bloggers, and managed to write more about random things than I ever thought I could.  I will miss writing here, and I will miss of the lovely comments I get from some of you.  I hope to see you all when I return.

In the meantime, have a wonderful end of November and beginning of December.  Be safe, be happy!  Bye!

— Amanda

7 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving and a Brief Hiatus

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! I think the quiet route is the way to go… Back in Kansas, our family would almost always go to our Aunt and Uncle’s in Topeka, we’d have the traditional fare of turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing and pie, and then the adults would stay upstairs and talk, and us kids (I say “us kids”, but this tradition was still valid the last time we went there, even though my cousins are a few years older than me) would go down to the basement, turn on a movie, and all fall asleep fifteen minutes into it.

    Nowadays, our tradition seems to be driving down to the beach where Christie’s sister lives, and eating at her house… Hari goes absolutely over the top with the cooking, and usually ends up making three turkeys: one deep-fried, one traditionally oven-baked, and one that he does something different with. The only downside is that we have to make sure we clear out of the beach before the next day, because as soon as people start accumulating for Black Friday, the outlets down there are the last place you want to be. o_O

    You’ve got a lot going on it sounds like. I’ll be looking forward to your blog’s glorious return though! Just do all you can to keep yourself sane through the coming weeks. Have a great holiday, happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Happy Turkey Day!

    Funny…we normally do the whole big family get together route, but this year it’s just going to be the immediate family over at my parent’s new house. There are five of us (and between us 3 cats, haha) so that will be plenty! I get sick of the huge get togethers because my family is…exhausting…as well, haha.

  3. Have a fruitful break from blogging. Can’t wait for the next book review (I confess they are my favourite). Cheers.

    P.S.- Doctor Who is going swimmingly. Thank you for the suggestion.

  4. Pingback: That Time of Year « Annalise Green

Leave a Reply

