The Fairy Tale Is Going Strong

(edit: it occurs to me I should probably link to my original reviews, so I have added those beneath the related show)

Science/Fantasy Monday: The Fairy Tale Is Going Strong

*slowly emerges from a hole in ground*

Hello all you lovely people.  I’m supposed to be writing a paper right now on Membership Categorization Analysis, Twitter hashtags, and the methods used by Occupy Wall Street Protestors to construct group identities.  But I missed you all, and I would have felt horrible if I didn’t put at least something quick on the blog.

I don’t have a lot of time, and I don’t have any brilliant ideas.  But I thought I’d leave you a few new comments on Once Upon a Time, and Grimm, which I have talked about the last couple Mondays (I know, I said I wasn’t going to do anymore tv reviews for awhile, and these aren’t exactly reviews, just a couple quick notes).

So, Once Upon a Time:

My original review is here: Once Upon A Time.

Robert Carlyle as Rumpelstiltskin

This show continues to impress me.  I’ve gotten over the first initial “they calls that special effects?” moment, and I’m really enjoying learning more about the characters.  Last night’s episode was great because I am seriously fascinated by Mr. Gold/Rumpelstiltskin.  He makes a wonderful Faustian devil character — the one you should never ever EVER make a deal with, and he is played with imminent creepiness by Robert Carlyle.  I also really love how tough and no-nonsense Emma is about everything.  She is a fantastic heroine and I really look forward to seeing how things progress with her.  Finally, last week’s episode, which gave some much-needed back-story on the Snow White character, was highly enjoyable, and made me like both the character, and Ginnifer Goodwin’s portrayal of her, much more than I had previously.  And, on a side note, I really want to know what hell Sheriff Graham is up to (I assume he’s the Huntsman, but I’m not really sure, and he’s definitely an enigma).

For those of you who have missed out on these so far, ABC is still putting full episodes up on their website here: Once Upon a Time full episodes.  Go, and enjoy!

And, Grimm:

My original review is here: Things Look Grimm.

Silas Weir Mitchell as Monroe

This show is following the formula I assumed it would so far: monster/crime-of-the-week episodes, with bits and pieces of big looming overarching plot mixed in for good measure.  And I’m really enjoying it.  As I said before, it hasn’t grabbed me as much as Once Upon a Time has, but it’s definitely fun.  I still like the main character, Nick.  And I still REALLY like Monroe, his new de facto sidekick.  I was, however, wrong about Nick’s boss.  Looks like he’s gonna be all tangled up in the big-bad element after all.  Why is it always the boss?  Can’t it be someone less obvious for once, please?  Last friday’s episode was fun, but nothing spectacular.  However, I did really enjoy the guest appearance of Nana Visitor as Mellifer/Bee Queen Melissa Wincroft — my fellow scifi geeks should recognize Nana Visitor as Major Kira Nerys from Star Trek: Deep Space Nine.  I haven’t seen her in anything in quite awhile, so that was a nice surprise.  Also, look how clever the writers are: Melissa means ‘honey bee’ (lol!).  I look forward to next week’s episode, and anticipate Monroe remaining my favorite character throughout the season.

For those who have missed them, the episodes can be found on NBC’s Grimm website.  Have fun!

So, for those who have been keeping up so far, what do you think now that we’re a few episodes in?  Meeting your expectations or not?  Surpassing them, perhaps?  Please chime in below!

And now, excuse me… I must return to PhD torture and writing my paper… *dashes back down the dark hole*

13 thoughts on “The Fairy Tale Is Going Strong

  1. it’s actually because of your first blog that i decided to watch Grimm. i’ve only seen two episodes, i have one more to watch tonight before i am all caught up. i really do enjoy the sidekick, as well as the human partner. i am concerned about the time slot it’s in. if i am home on fridays, i usually try to catch Fringe or CSI:NY…

    • I’m glad to hear my review helped spread word on a good show!

      Fringe is also awesome. I love good crime shows. Criminal Minds is definitely my favorite though.

      Thanks for commenting.

  2. Both shows are my favorite. My wife and I would the Once Upon Time without much excitement and without fail. A Fairy tale that went dark and bad…. love it!
    The Grimm is cool too but I want to see more screams coming into life like Supernatural or True Blood. It has potential to be hit though, as long as they make its scene heart pounding. We need to be “thrilled,” right ? I enjoyed the review a lot , Thank you. have you seen the Secret Circle? I got hooked with it too.

    • Hehe, I understood what you meant. We definitely need to be thrilled, and I’m hoping Grimm will pick up its pace.

      I haven’t seen Secret Circle yet. Unfortunately, because of my school schedule I can only fit a couple shows in per season. I haven’t seen American Horror Story yet either, which I really WANT to see, so hopefully I’ll be able to catch some re-runs of both over winter break.

      Thanks so much for commenting.

  3. I’m liking them both. I see similarities in Once Upon A Time and Lost, due to the same writers. The flashbacks, the darkness, but I’m enjoying it. Even though I’ve only seen the first two episodes.

    Same for Grimm. Grimm reminds me a bit of Supernatural which I had to stop watching because of the scariness, but I am hopefull Grimm keeps it’s humor with Monroe. I love his character; goofy and a little smidge of Seymore from Burn Notice, thrown in there. I love Nick’s partner, and I hope it stays good, and he continues to trust Nick. It’s like watching the interaction between Ryan and Espisito. Very buddy buddy. Good stuff.

    Can’t wait to catch up.

    • Yes, Grimm definitely reminds me of Supernatural as well. Though I think the characterization is much weaker on Grimm, at least so far. I have hopes its going to get better as it goes though.

  4. I love Rumple/Mr. Gold. Maybe because he reminds me of a slightly darker version of Boldwin. Or maybe just because of the name. >>
    (Although, to be honest, I do really love the characters who play a third party to the main good vs. evil conflict going on.)
    I really like the way that Once has put a new spin on some of the fairy tales (mixing up the Rumpelstiltskin tale with Cinderella was a nice touch) and how the effects of time in Storybrooke starting to move again show up in the different characters lives. And I’m leaning towards Graham as the huntsman too. It just seems to fit.

    And I was pleasantly surprised by Grimm’s most recent episode. So far it’s still a fun watch.

  5. Pingback: Blog Treasures 11-19 « Gene Lempp's Blog

Leave a Reply

