The Beginning, Middle, and End Blogfest

On her blog, Annalise Green decided to enter the Beginning, Middle, and End Blogfest hosted by Kate Larkindale, for which you post the first, middle, and last paragraphs of your WIP.  I’ve never heard of such a thing, but it sounded like so much fun I decided I had to do it too!

As some followers know, my current WIP is an urban fantasy called Midnight’s Knife, which is about a woman who works as a demon hunter for the Catholic Church.

So, First Paragraph:

Gabrielle was bored, and bored was not a safe place to be with Gabrielle.  It led to… messes.  “Pearce, I’m bored,” she whined.  Pearce looked up from his newspaper to give her a long-suffering look, a look that said clearly ‘oh lord, no.’  When Gabrielle made a mess Pearce was invariably the one stuck cleaning it up.

Middle Paragraph (or as close to it as I can figure):

“Care to tell me what the hell this is about?  ‘Cause I’ve got a manicure appointment in an hour,” Gabrielle jeered.  She sat at the wide wood table of an interrogation room, Detective Edwards seated opposite her with a triumphant expression on her face.  Gabrielle leaned back against the lightweight aluminum chair and crossed her arms over her chest.  Fury bubbled just beneath the surface of what she hoped was a calm-and-in-control exterior.  At this point she couldn’t be certain how believable her unconcerned expression was; Detective Edwards would have thought she was the devil even if she had wings and a halo floating over her head.

Last Paragraph:

Behind them, the demon stayed in the shadows, watching but not moving.  One last time, Gabrielle turned, her gray eyes piercing the veil of darkness and pinning him with her gaze.  Run, her hard gaze told him, run and hide, because I’ll be back on duty soon enough.  And the demon backed away, turned, and ran.

*

Yeah… this is a very LONG WIP.  I finished the first draft with 30 chapters and 165,755 words.  Which means you aren’t getting MUCH from these snippets.  However, I also posted one long scene from the first chapter a few months ago: here, that might give you an idea of the overall atmosphere of the novel.

Please tell me what you think! I’d love to hear any and all comments, critiques, whatever.  Obviously, it needs a lot of work, and I’m TRYING to find time to work on revisions in between classes.  But so far that hasn’t worked out too well.

In any case, hope you enjoyed this impromptu addition to my usual blogging schedule.  See you tomorrow for Free-For-All Friday!

16 thoughts on “The Beginning, Middle, and End Blogfest

    • Thank you! I just realized that I forgot to include the link to a previous post that included a scene from my WIP. I have now added the link where it says “I also posted one long scene from the first chapter a few months ago: here…” if you are interested in reading a bit more from Midnight’s Knife.

    • Lol, just don’t forget to head over to Kate Larkindale’s blog since she was the one who came up with the Beginning, Middle, and End Blogfest!

    • Hehe, yeah I know its a little long. My plan is to cut out quite a few passages in revision, especially as my overall vision for the novel changed a bit as I was wrapping up the first draft. It’s still gonna be a long novel though.

      Thanks for commenting!

  1. Pingback: Beginning, Middle, and End Blogfest « Socially Accepted Madness

  2. I like your word choices and descriptions. I’m also intrigued as to what kind of story it is; the middle paragraph suggests a mystery, but the ending suggests paranormal or fantasy.

    165,000 isn’t long at all in my book; that’s a drop in the bucket for me, as I’ve easily written a number of books far, far longer!

    • 165,000 is a drop in the bucket? Really? You’ve got some REALLY LONG books! I know the average is something like 60-80,000 with SOME novels reaching 100,000. I keep worrying that its so long now that no one would want to give it a shot as a first novel.

      As for the genre of my WIP, it’s definitely fantasy, but the MC runs afoul of the police a few times, and there some feeling of mystery involved anyway.

  3. I love the opening sentence, especially in combination with the second sentence. And if I may make a tiny suggestion in that regard, I don’t think you even need the ellipsis there. I think we’ll understand from context soon enough that “messes” is a bit of a euphemism. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for commenting and so much for the suggestion. I believe you may be right. I have an addiction for ellipsis and I have to constantly edit them out later. But at least I’m aware I have a problem. They say that’s the first step to recovery. 😀

Leave a Reply

