Time to Celebrate! I Finished Something!

It’s midnight, and an hour ago I finally FINALLY finished the first draft of my urban fantasy novel Midnight’s Knife.  I’ve been writing for years, in between school and work and family issues, and I’ve started probably half-a-dozen different projects, but this is the very first time I have ever actually finished a whole draft of a novel.  There’s a beginning, middle, and end! I even actually typed “The End” just because… I COULD!

I’m not sure I can convey how happy and excited I am right now.  I’m not sure any could top this!  Except actually seeing my first novel in print.  (I mean, like, in book form… not, you know, on printer paper…)

I’m on my third glass of wine now.  Can you tell?

Admittedly, there is still a ton of work left to do.  I’m still unsure about the ending, and I have a few different plausible ideas on how it could end, so I’ll probably write them all out and test them out on my friend, who has read each chapter as I wrote them.  I also have to go back and fix quite a few little plot holes that popped up as I changed my mind about things in the process of writing them.  And then, there’s the more fine-tuning kinds of revision to be done.  So yes, lots and lots of work left.

But right now, I am still riding the high of actually finishing a whole draft of a novel.  A whole novel!  For the curious, the whole thing comes to 30 chapters, and 165,798 words.

So, what’s next?  Well, first I’m taking a few days off to read a little and let my fried brain recover.  I do have #ToBeReMo books to read, after all.  Then, I’ll get started on those revisions.  At the same time, I need to start working on a decent summary.  I might test a few of those out on you all, if that’s amenable to you…  And to celebrate, I might post the opening scene here.  Maybe.  I’ve heard some warnings against doing such things, but one scene might not hurt.  So we’ll see.

Okay, I need to go and be excited and hyper now!  I’ll see you all on Wednesday for your regularly-scheduled blogging.  Good night! Or morning… whatever.

15 thoughts on “Time to Celebrate! I Finished Something!

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!! *throws confetti* If I was there, I’d so take you out for drinks.

    And…that was even faster than I thought. XP
    I am in utter awe of you, kind of (okay A LOT) jealous, but mostly I’m excited like crazy about the thought of being able to read it.

    Enjoy this week off tho. You have so so SOOO earned it!

  2. Congratulations Amanda! What a huge accomplishment. I know you worked very hard for it but seeing this stage completed has to be a huge relief.

    Enjoy the break, recharge those batteries and bask in the warm glow of victory 🙂

    • Thanks! It’s definitely a relief. And the prospect of going back through and tearing everything apart to make it better is both exhilarating and terrifying. I’m definitely still in the basking stage of the process though. I can’t quite believe I finally managed to finish something.

    • Thanks! And lol, definitely had more wine. I kinda crashed last night, not long after posting this.

      Also, thank you, I think Dominic Deegan is the only thing that could make me seem awesome, but I’ll take whatever I can get.

  3. Congratulations! Definitely give yourself some time to relax before diving back in. Keep us posted on editing and possible queries!

  4. Congrats. Definitely a fantastic feeling. I spent over 5 years finishing my first. It was nice to shake that monkey off my back after letting it drag on a bit too long. My second, thankfully, was a lot easier to get out (only 8 months for the first draft). Enjoy the moment because now the real work begins. 😉

  5. Pingback: #ToBeReMo 2: On Dark Paths | Amanda Rudd's Blog

Leave a Reply

