Important Update: New Look, Same Me; Plus: My 10 Favorite Fantasy Series for Children

As you may have noticed, the blog has a new name and a new look.  I have mentioned a few times that book I was reading We Are Not Alone: The Writer’s Guide to Social Media by Kristen Lamb, and how I planned to implement some of the suggestions from the book.  Well, the time has come to kick off the rebirth of my blog.

The changes are as follows:

1)     I am no longer using my nickname Yami but my real name, Amanda Rudd.  It is the name I plan to publish under someday, and I want to make it searchable and recognizable.  The new title of the blog reflects that.

2)     The blog will no longer be a conglomeration of whatever happens to come to mind; instead I intend to focus on writing and reading fantasy and science fiction (though I may occasionally wander into other aspects of the written word).

3)     While changing the title of the blog I have also changed the URL address.  I paid the fee to have wordpress automatically transfer people from the old address to the new address, so hopefully everyone will be able to find me even through old links.  But I would greatly appreciate it if you would take just a minute to subscribe to the new address.

4)     There is a new “About” page.  Please take a look.

5)     The plan is to post consistently on Wednesday and Friday.  I usually post in the evenings, so for those (like me) who like to go through the day’s blogs at night, you should see mine in Wed. and Fri. evenings, or look for them on Thurs. and Sat. mornings. (I will be in L.A. all of next week, but I’m hoping to get posts for next Wed. and Fri. queued before I leave.)

6)     The header image is from a commissioned digital painting by my friend and outstanding artist, Denitsa Petkova.  Her DeviantArt profile is Exarrdian.

So, that’s the important update information.  But to kick-off the new focus of my blog, here is a list of my top ten favorite fantasy series for children.  This list includes only those series that are generally considered acceptable for the independent readers age group (9-13 yr olds).  Also, this list is no particular order.  I cannot put my favorite things in a hierarchical order to save my life.  I just don’t think like that.  I love everything!  With that said, here’s my list (links go to either omnibus, box set, or first book of each series):

The Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

Redwall Series by Brian Jacques (see my previous post here)

Oz Series by L. Frank Baum

Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

The Dark Is Rising Sequence by Susan Cooper

The Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia C. Wrede

His Dark Materials Trilogy by Philip Pullman

Inkheart Trilogy by Cornelia Funke

Artemis Fowl Series by Eoin Colfer

Yes, most of these are older series; most of them are the ones I grew up with.  And yes there are, of course, many other good fantasy series’ for children.  I used to work at a bookstore in the children’s section, and from conversations with children, parents, and fellow employees, I learned about many good and popular series: Warriors, Pendragon, The Sisters Grimm, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, etc.  But I have only listed here the ones I’ve actually read.  (I have read the first Percy Jackson book, which was very cute, but I haven’t gotten around the rest of them.)  Also, if I had included YA series, the list would be ridiculously long and include such things as: Tamora Pierce’s Tortall Series and Circle Series, The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor, Laurie Stolarz’s Blue is for Nightmares Series, and Garth Nix’s Abhorsen Trilogy, just to name a few.  Also, I know my list is missing Madeleine L’Engle’s Wrinkle in Time books, which are considered classics, but I must admit to the embarrassing factor that I’ve never actually read them.  I keep planning on it, but…  Well, I’m sure I get around to them eventually.

Thoughts on the rebirth of the blog?  Thoughts on my list fantasy series?  Which series am I missing?  Drop a line in the comments!

(Sidenote: Even though its not quite midnight yet, I’m counting this as my friday blog.  I’ll be on a plane tomorrow, but I wanted to make sure this got up first.)

6 thoughts on “Important Update: New Look, Same Me; Plus: My 10 Favorite Fantasy Series for Children

  1. Amanda, formerly known as Yami, I love it! I’m really excited and proud for you as you make changes to your blog, it also impacts your life. Great beginning, I know more will follow and you have this subscriber to lend support along the way! I like how you laid out all the changes you made it will be such a wonderful post for new writers to read as they’re developing their blogs. I hope you repost it or summarize the impact it has for you down the line. Good luck girl! And since you’re going to LA, could you send a little heat wave my way?

    • Thank you so much for your support. I really appreciate the time you’ve taken to comment and encourage me. I hope, as well, that other changes follow. I have been trying hard over the last couple years to grow and settle into myself more comfortably.

      Unfortunately, LA is supposed to be rainy and in the 50s while I’m in town, but perhaps even those temperatures would be warm for you? I will think warm spring thoughts in your direction, how about that?

  2. The new blog looks fantastic! I’m looking forward to all that’s to come. And let me say right now- I had no idea you’d read the Enchanted Forest series! I love those books, my cousin gave them to me as a kid, and it was one of the first series that really got me to sit down and read from morning to night just to find out what happened! ^_^

Leave a Reply

