Wake Up Geek Culture: Time to Live (via Transmythology)

I read Patton Oswalt’s article “Wake Up, Geek Culture. Time to Die,” last week, thanks to a link on facebook. And while Oswalt made a few good and thought-provoking points, I did not really agree with most of what he was saying. However, I couldn’t quite figure out how to explain WHY I didn’t agree. This blog, by Simon Pulman perfectly articulates all the things I wanted to say but couldn’t, plus quite a bit more. It is an absolutely fantastic discussion of geek culture and the changes wrought by advancements in technology and new media.

I was sent an article yesterday from the January issue of Wired magazine that is well worth reading.  Written by comedian Patton Oswalt, it’s titled “Wake Up, Geek Culture.  Time to Die,” and deals with the ways in which our consumption of – and relationship with – popular culture have changed over the past twenty years or so.  Within the article, Oswalt expresses frustration about the popular adoption of what might be called geek or “otaku” cult … Read More

via Transmythology

2 thoughts on “Wake Up Geek Culture: Time to Live (via Transmythology)

  1. I agree with a lot of what this person says… Geek culture is *thriving* right now, and I don’t feel a bit like it’s been diluted by it’s mingling with the muggles. I’m still the nerdiest person in my office, and just yesterday I had that “Wink and Nod” moment when our new supervisor and I got stuck quoting Monty Python back and forth to each other. =D

Leave a Reply

