The Importance of Winning: A NaNo Update

Hello hello.  So, its monday night, and we are just over one week into the insanity known as NaNoWriMo.  Last week was an adventure.  I wrote like a maniac, while still managing (for the most part) to keep the house clean, get dinner cooked, and even work on PhD applications a little bit.  The most amazing thing was how easily the first 20,000 words came to me.  They simply FLEW from my brain, down my arms, and through my fingertips onto the computer screen.  It was an absolute JOY.

It was also ridiculously gratifying to see how far ahead of the curve I could get.  The official goal is 50,000 words by Nov 30.  Which means 1667 words per day.  Which means by Sunday, Nov 7th, I should have been at 11,669 words.  I had hit that word count by the end of my second day.  And by Sunday night, I had reached 25,764 words – more than half-way to the end goal by the end of the first week.

Am I perhaps a little more proud of that than I should be, yes.  It is a huge boost for my fragile ego, definitely.  I am pathetically in a one-sided race with some of my friends, of course.  I just can’t help myself.  I am currently 79 words ahead of my closest rival (of people I know personally – I don’t even WANT to know what the actual highest current word count is).  However, my rival/friend is an absolute word-cruching DEMON, and she will no doubt beat me.  But that’s okay, but winning isn’t really the point.  At least, not winning against anybody else.  It’s all about beating your own personal limits.

And THAT competition I intend to WIN.

In the mean time, here’s my new motto: RULE THE WORD!

Leave a Reply

