NaNoWriMo: A Month of Mania, Masochism, and Much Coffee.

For the very first time ever, I have decided to participate in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month).  I’ve been thinking about it for a few years now.  And last year my best friend nearly convinced me to give it a shot.  But the time has never been right.  First there was my undergrad: 18 credit hours, three student organizations, editor of the fine arts journal, and working 35 hours a week.  NaNo was definitely NOT in the stars then.  And for the last two years I’ve been too stressed about grad school.  I know plenty of people still find the time to do NaNo while in school or working full-time.  But I was taking graduate courses and teaching two freshman English courses; and, while I MIGHT have been able to squeeze it in, it just would NOT have been healthy for my sanity, or the fact that I was already only getting 3-5 hours of sleep a night.

NOW, however, (as you may have become aware) I’ve got plenty of time on my hands.  The time is finally the WRITE time (I’m sorry, I couldn’t help myself…).  Even with all this time on my hands, I was still a little leery of doing this.  After all, I’m supposed to be working on PhD applications (again), and I have several stories in the works that I would have to put on hold to do this (which just seemed wrong somehow).  But I know this is probably the only time in my life when I’ll really be able to concentrate on this and give it a good shot.  And I would be very annoyed and disappointed with myself if I passed up this opportunity, and didn’t make the best of the overall situation that I could.  So, I’m going to do it.  I’ve signed up, I’ve made my presence known on the Houston region forums, I’ve started writing character sketches and outlines, I’ve come up with a title (not always an easy task for me), and I’m getting REALLY excited for Nov 1st.

It is a fairly masochistic way to spend one’s time.  And it requires no small amounts of coffee, sugar, friendly support, and mania at odd hours of the day and night.  But I have all that anyway, (especially the masochism and the coffee) so I might as well put it to good use.  And I really do believe everything they say on the NaNoWriMo Site, that this is a healthy exercise in letting go of perfectionism and neuroses (at least in my case) and just WRITE and worry about the rest later.

Therefore, you can expect plenty of updates, ranting, and possibly some angst on the subject of NaNo in the coming weeks.  For the moment, I’m feeling rather optimistic about the whole thing.  But we’ll see how long that lasts.  Knowing me, probably not long…  ^^;

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

