And the Dark Knight Rises Again

I would like to begin by saying that the violence in Aurora, Colorado is a horrible shock and tragedy, and my thoughts are with all the victims and their families.  I saw the news this morning, and I have trouble comprehending how such a thing can happen.  I just don’t understand how a person can do such a thing.  I understand that some people are nervous about the possibilities of a copy-cat, but some of the comments from people who think that Warner Bros. should pull Dark Knight Rises from theatres just do not make sense to me.  You can blame the movie or the movie industry for the actions of a madman (and this man clearly has mental issues), and it would be unreasonable to penalize the movie or the industry because of this.

My brother and I had made plans to go see Dark Knight Rises today, and even after we heard the news about the shooting, we decided to go anyway.  We went to an early afternoon IMAX showing, and it was still a sold-out show.

I’m afraid I won’t actually be able to say much, because I’m TERRIFIED of accidentally revealing too much — and this is NOT a movie that should be ruined for anyone.  So I’m just going to say a few vague words and assure you all that it is DEFINITELY DEFINITELY worth seeing.

Let me start with the obvious: I love Batman, I love Christian Bale, and I love Christopher Nolan movies.  I was BLOWN AWAY by both Batman Begins and The Dark Knight.  And while I had been watching the casting for this third movie with some trepidation (it seemed like Nolan was casting too many big names, which hinted to me that he might have bitten off more than he could chew), I was still extremely excited to see this movie.  I had some pretty high expectations.  This movie met (and in some cases exceeded) all of them.

As always, Christian Bale was brilliant.  I was also seriously impressed by Anne Hathaway as Catwoman/Selena Kyle.  Of course, Tom Hardy is also amazing, and he was fantastically threatening as Bane.  And Joseph Gordon-Levitt was wonderful as Blake as well.  I especially really liked Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s character, in fact.  He’s a younger cop, working with Gordon, and he’s just really REALLY likable.

Visually, this movie was STUNNING.  I saw it in IMAX, and the cityscapes: OMG! Seriously. AMAZING.  Also, one of the complaints I’ve had about Nolan in the past is that his fight scenes are often extremely difficult to follow.  He uses ultra-close close-ups so that everything is blurry and you’re too close to the body to see who’s hitting who, etc.  He seems to have learned his lesson in this movie, and the fight scenes were MUCH more clear and easy to follow.  They were also BRUTAL.  The fight scenes between Batman and Bane: oh WOW.  INTENSE.

And, of course, the writing was fantastic.  I have a few small complaints, but I don’t want to get into them because they would all reveal too much, and they were small enough not to injure the movie much.

A couple other complaints I have: another problem that seems to be common with Nolan is some imbalances with the sound.  There are a number of places in the movie were the score drowns out the dialogue so you really cannot tell what the people are saying.  Also, despite Nolan having gone back in to fix things after initial complaints, there are a few points where it is difficult to understand what Bane is saying through the mask.

Also, there was not NEARLY enough Michael Caine as Alfred.  I won’t get into why, but he just didn’t get as much screen time as he deserved.  I also have some detail-oriented issues with a few plot devices, especially at the end.  One thing about Nolan: he is a fantastic, brilliant “BIG ideas” man, but he sometimes trips up on the details.  That is obvious in a few places in this movie.

And I haven’t quite decided how I feel about the ending.

Despite these small complaints (and they really are only small complaints) this was an absolutely brilliant movie.  Intelligent, intense, visually gorgeous, with some great writing, and just about perfect casting/acting.  It is a fitting end to this particular Batman era, and definitely does justice to the hopes and expectations raised by The Dark Knight, and you should all go see it as soon as possible.

As for me: I’ll probably be seeing again soon.  It’s definitely a more-than-once kind of movie.  That’s for damn sure.

Side note: I had a pretty cool experience on Thursday night (which is why I didn’t go to a midnight release showing of Dark Knight Rises in the first place), and hopefully I’ll be able to write it all down on sunday.  ‘Cause it was pretty damn cool.

9 thoughts on “And the Dark Knight Rises Again

  1. Agree totally. The only reason the gunman chose to gun people down in this theater was because he was a psychopath looking for attention, and a box office premiere is a huge draw. Why is it that every time this happens people turn to “violence in the media”? Sure, plenty of people politicize “gun control” too, but I see that as a no brainer.

  2. We’re watching it tomorrow morning. I’m SO excited, you have no idea. Or maybe you do but still. I’ve been told by multiple people that I won’t be disappointed.

  3. I had the exact same reservations when I heard the news this morning. I put those irrational fears aside and created an #occupydarkknight on twitter. Seriously. That is the definition of terrorism. I love Batman! The psychopath who did that in Aurora put the fear in those people. I saw the movie. I loved it. I think I even prefer the film version over the comic or video game version now… Vote Bane 2012. All I gotta say.

  4. Joe and I just went to see Dark Knight Rises last night. I will say I thought it could’ve ended a little sooner, but overall I really enjoyed it. Loved the ending! We’ll have to chat on twitter so I don’t make any spoilers, but did you get the part about the chalk symbol the boy and the young detective draw plus the scar on Ms. Tate’s back??? Confusing…

    • Yeah, there are some flaws. It’s not perfect. But it’s still pretty awesome, right? As for the symbol the boy drew, I think it was supposed to be a really simple method for drawing the Batman symbol. The scar on Miranda Tate’s back, I’m not so sure about.

Leave a Reply

