Sherlock, Sherlock, and More Sherlock

Last night I watched the rest of season 1 of Sherlock.  SO MUCH FUN.

Yes, there will be spoilers in this.  It’s impossible to talk about the episodes without giving some of it away, sorry.

First off, in episode 2, “The Blind Banker,” the scene near the beginning when Sherlock is in the bank, bobbing and weaving around the offices as he investigates: totally hilarious! I could not stop laughing.  And then in episode 3, “The Great Game,” it opens with Sherlock lying in the apartment, shooting holes into one of the walls and yelling that he’s bored bored bored.  And then when John walks off, he curls up into a little ball on the sofa like a little kid! OMG! I thought I was going to die it was so funny and so adorable.

I loved the plots for both episodes.  I’m really impressed how Mark Gattiss can take little whiffs of elements from the original stories and strewn them across his plotlines.  The mystery of how someone can be murdered in a room that is locked from the inside, and the Chinese acrobat to name just a couple.  Also, that Sherlock uses a network of homeless people as his eyes and ears, like the Baker Street Irregulars from the books.  Nice touch.  And again, I’m very impressed by how well they can translate the characters into a contemporary framework without losing sight of the characters themselves.

I honestly can’t decide if I love Sherlock or John more.  Benedict Cumberbatch is AWESOME (and those EYES!), but Martin Freeman is totally amazing too, and so wonderfully sympathetic!  And I love the mix of resigned stoic and adorably flustered reactions he has to everything Sherlock does.

Let’s see… what else can I talk about…?  Oh! Sarah.  Sarah is a likable character, so far as we actually get to know her in episode 2 anyway.  But I have a hard time believing that this woman, who seems fairly normal and quiet and stable, is really going to stick around after her first date with this guy she barely knows ends with her being held hostage and nearly murdered.  Seriously.

Okay, okay… so let’s get the elephant in the room.  Moriarty.  I’ll be honest, I was hugely HUGELY surprised by the appearance of Moriarty – the way he shows up the first time AND the casting choice.  Andrew Scott was definitely an interesting choice, and while his portrayal is different than anything I would have expected, but it was very compelling.  The whole set up of “The Great Game” was fantastic.  I loved how intricate the various tests were.  I also loved Sherlock’s portrayal in the third episode.  How excited and focused and gleeful he was about the tests, how he could save lives and not quite care at the same time.

And the final confrontation scene at the end of the episode?  BRILLIANT.  I loved every second of it.  Sherlock’s face when John walks out with the bomb strapped to his chest.  The way John jumped on Moriarty’s back to give Sherlock time to escape (which, of course, he wasn’t going to do).  How completely PSYCHOTIC Moriarty was.

Best line: 

Moriarty: “Kill you? Um, no. Don’t be obvious I mean, I’m gonna kill you anyway, someday. I don’t want to rush it though. I’m saving it up for something special! No no no no no, if you don’t stop prying… I’ll burn you. I will burn.. the heart out of you.”

Sherlock: “I’ve been reliably informed that I don’t have one.”

Awesome!

And the cliff-hanger was cruel! Too cruel! It reminded me of Star Trek: The Next Generation, the season finale of season three, “Best of Both Worlds” – when Picard has been turned into a borg, and Riker orders the Enterprise to open fire on the borg ship that Picard is on, and then it goes black. SO MEAN!

When I finished the episode at about 2am last night, I was in a panic.  I couldn’t believe no one had warned me that I shouldn’t watch that episode before I was sure I could get my hands on season 2 – because season 2 is not on Netflix streaming, and I hadn’t been able to find it ANYWHERE.

Thankfully, when I complained on Twitter, one of my wonderful Twitter friends sent me a link for the season 2 episodes streaming on PBS.com.  Three guesses what I’ll be doing tonight, and the first two don’t count.

And yes, I already know about the third episode of season 2 – well not everything, but when an episode is called “The Reichenbach Fall” a Sherlock Holmes can guess what to expect, and I’ve heard a few hints as to how the writers pull it off here.  Expect a rant later.

In other news:  I was horribly shocked and upset by Ray Bradbury’s death this week. I thought about writing a blog post about it, but I read a few very well written ones already, and I couldn’t decide what I wanted to say, so I’ll just leave you with a couple links: “Ray Bradbury” by storiesbywilliams, “Ray Bradbury on Sci-Fi, God, and Robots: The Late Author’s Biggest Ideas” from Wired.com, and Neil Gaiman’s beautiful tribute: “Ray Bradbury.”  I might change my mind and write something about him later, we’ll see.

Also, I will be seeing Prometheus sometime this weekend, so expect a review of that, probably on Monday.

See ya later, folks!

2 thoughts on “Sherlock, Sherlock, and More Sherlock

Leave a Reply

